Breakfast Smoothies

I’m beginning week three of my new smoothies for breakfast lifestyle. It seems like something I’m going to stick with. I went to Whole Foods and the regular grocery last week and bought  some things to dress up my smoothies. I’m going to share my discoveries.

Yogurt- the first day I substituted a 1/4 cup of greek yogurt with 1/4 cup of milk instead of using 1/2 cup of milk like I had been doing. It made my smoothie a lot thicker than I like so I switched to adding a tablespoon or two for the rest of the week. This made the smoothies a little thicker without being an effort to suck up though a straw.

Chocolate protein powder- I bought this to make the smoothies more filling. I used a full scoop the first day along with the yogurt which may have contributed to the thickness. Since then I’ve been using half a scoop. Maybe I’ll work my way up to a full scoop eventually. This also comes in vanilla, but how can you not get chocolate?

Frozen wheat grass cubes- I’ve heard wheat grass is very good for you and helps fight cancer. It has a weird green color that can turn people off but it is tasteless. I’ve made my smoothies with mixed berries so they’re purple and not green.

Kiwi- I blended this with the skin, but I think I will have to work my way up to that. I’m not fond of the fuzziness.

Chocolate chips- I’m trying not to consume too much sugar, but on the other hand I’m trying to be successful in this change. Throwing in a few chocolate chips on occasion is a nice treat.

I’m not a big fan of coffee but during Christmas I bought peppermint mocha instant coffee from Starbucks. I used one packet and it has just been sitting in my kitchen since. I included a portion of a packet in one of my smoothies and it gave it a little minty coffee kick. The packets also have 15 grams of sugar so just using a portion is a little healthier. 

Not for smoothies but one of the recipes for the Magic Bullet is chocolate mousse. Which uses heavy whipping cream- I blended this with a melted chocolate chips instead of buying chocolate syrup and made chocolate mousse which is a nice, simple but satisfying dessert. I added a few drops of peppermint extract and this was a delight. Be sure to only blend for a few seconds. If you do it too long it liquifies.

There are so many combinations of fruits and other things that I am enjoying making smoothies for breakfast. It’s much better than having cereal or oatmeal like I used to have.

Leave a Reply

