This Night, This Time

I had the pleasure of attending the Matchbox 20 concert tonight. As Rob Thomas pointed out they’ve been doing their thing for 17 years.

For the first few songs, I couldn’t help but think of my two friends I used to vacation with when I was in college. We loved Matchbox 20 and Push was one of our all time favorite songs. Whenever we heard it we sang it at the top of our lungs. The songs from Matchbox 20’s first two albums remind me of those times and being with them.

One of those friends passed away suddenly due to a health problem a few years ago.  It’s bittersweet whenever I hear Push. I remember our good times, but I miss her. With her gone, we’re like a broken tea cup glued back together. There’s a fragment missing and we’ve never been quite right since she’s been gone.

At the concert I fought my emotions for the first few songs. I was nostalgic of the good times but also a little sad. I didn’t want to be sad though because the current moment was pretty awesome. I was at the concert with four new friends who also love Matchbox 20 and find the group’s songs meaningful for their own reasons. 

We had a beautiful evening that started out with dinner. We chatted happily and took pictures before the concert. If someone had told me a year ago that I would be spending most of my free time with some combination of them, I wouldn’t have been able to fathom how that would come about. But it happened little by little and here we were making a new memory.  That is the beauty of Matchbox 20. A group from our past still speaks to us now.

As much as I was fighting inside to enjoy the present, it was Rob Thomas’ wisdom that snapped me out of my reverie. He told us that for the next two hours we would all be there together. Not to think about anything else but now.

The sincerity with which he said that made me like him even more. We can go about our lives and be held back by memories, what we think we want or don’t want, how we think things should be, but then we encounter someone or something that changes our perspective. 

Rob Thomas introduced his favorite song from the new album, North. It’s called “I Will”. This is the song that will look back on and remember this night, this time.

Leave a Reply

