Closeness

I asked my cousin how her Lenten Reflections are going and she said she felt closer to God. I wondered if my sacrifice was good enough because my choices don’t obviously relate to God as in praying or reading something spiritual. I did realize a few days ago that I think God is helping me stick to my goals. And maybe since I am in the middle I can’t see the whole plan how blogging and being more organized will bring me closer to God.

What does it feel like to be close to God? I wonder if anyone has the same answer. I would guess there are different categories. A bunch of people experience X, a bunch of people experience Y or Z. Probably the same individual can experience X,Y, and Z at different points in their life.

We can feel close or far away from people we know. Quality time brings people closer. Quality is relative to the people involved. If it is something you both enjoy, it can be positive. If only one person enjoys it, it’s not doing very much for the relationship. There is something to be said in making a sacrifice for someone you care about, but if it ends up being excessive and bringing you down then that’s not healthy.

You can spend a lot of time with someone and hardly connect. You can spend a lot of time with someone and not be able to express or show it, but you can feel a connection in a glance, in a touch, in a hug. You can spend a lot of time with someone and it could never feel like enough time. There can be people you don’t get to see often for various reasons, but when you’re with them again, you can pick up like no time has passed.

Sometimes people say things they don’t mean. They may know better in their heads, but because of their desires, the words get mixed up between their brains and their mouths. Sometimes people just can’t do better because they are in a dark place and can’t get out. And sometimes they just don’t know how they come across to others.

When we’re far away from someone we wish we were close to it’s hard to decide what to do. Do we wait it out? Do we say something? Do we move on?
What does God do when we are far away from him? How does he get our attention?

Leave a Reply

